Thread: GC3 Takover System Advice

GC3 Takover System Advice

I have decided to go with self installing a 2gig system and finding reasonable monitoring. This is my first time DIY, but paying $33 for a land line and $32 for monitoring seems rather high for an outdated system.

Need help selecting components, I will be taking over wired sensors from my old DSC 1555.

2GIG GC3
    2GIG GC3GA-A - Alarm.com AT&T 3G Comm for Go!Control
    2GIG PAD1-345 - Wireless Keypad (Extra pad)
    Encore firefighter ff345 (Take over wired smoke alarms)
    2gig take 345 inside (Take over wired door/window sensors)

If I understand correctly, the GC3 has built in WiFi so I do not need any type of bridge. Is the GC3GA-A the right cell modem for the GC3 panel? Any other parts I'm missing? I plan to add cameras, locks, etc. later.

One other question, I don't really understand "programming". If I put up the panels, wire up the takeover stuff, what programming is needed? I assume for the cellular, the monitoring service will provision that.
    Last edited by xxlbeerz; 02-11-2016 at 07:15 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by xxlbeerz View Post
    I have decided to go with self installing a 2gig system and finding reasonable monitoring. This is my first time DIY, but paying $33 for a land line and $32 for monitoring seems rather high for an outdated system.

Need help selecting components, I will be taking over wired sensors from my old DSC 1555.

2GIG GC3 Currently only available with Verizon Service See it here IN STOCK!
    2GIG PAD1-345 - Wireless Keypad (Extra pad) Only additional keypad for GC3 is Wireless Keypad Right Now
    Encore firefighter ff345 (Take over wired smoke alarms) Encore Firefighter Module Here
    2gig take 345 inside (Take over wired door/window sensors) Takeover options Kit or just Module I would recommend the Kit if your not using an existing panel as your power supply